Posted by: senthil4u | November 2, 2008

Kumble – Spin King announced his Retirement

It is finally time for the Spin King to call it quits. Anil Kumble announced his retirement after the Kotla test on Sunday.

However, the greatest leg spinner of India has an impressive record. The man himself has claimed 619 wickets from 131 Test matches with the best being that of 10 for 75 at the same venue where he has called it quits.

Kumble also had an impressive record in the shorter version of the game with 337 wickets in 271 matches, the highest number of scalps by an Indian bowler till date.

Significantly, Kumble’s decision to call it quits after 18 years of international cricket came at the very ground where he picked up all ten wickets in an innings against Pakistan in 1999.

Regarded as one of the best spinners in the world, Kumble took over the captaincy in November 2007 after Rahul Dravid relinquished the post. He led India to victory in the home series against Pakistan, the first home triumph against the traditional rivals in 27 years.MS Dhoni will reportedly take over as Test captain.

Announcing his retirement, Kumble said, “I had an injury which was quite unfortunate. It has been a fantastic journey. I would like to thank my team and my family. It has been a tough decision. Now I would like to spend more time with my wife and children.”

The spin bowler said that he would like to be remembered for giving his 100 per cent every time he went to the field. “I want to be remembered as someone who raised the bar for the team,” he said.

“Bowling for 18 years is not a joke. My last injury helped me make this decision. I did inform those who matter about my decision. Criticism is part of every sport so it is not a decision based on criticism. I don’t regret any moment in the last 18 years,” Kumble added.

Leave a Reply

Categories

